Home » Sports » Sylhet are Bangladesh District Cup winners!

Sylhet are Bangladesh District Cup winners!

Muhammad Hamza

SYLHET DISTRICT have been crowned champions of the Bangladesh District Cup 2021. After a year of postponement due to lockdown and the Coronavirus pandemic the cricket championships returned – played outdoors for the very first time at Seven Kings Park.

Ten teams representing Districts of Bangladesh took to the fields during the course of a day to battle it out for the right to take over from Dhaka Gladiators as champions.

With Dhaka exiting early, it was confirmed that there would be a new name on the trophy. Sylhet battled through the group stages, defeating Noakhali, Hobiganj, and the prize scalp of Sunamganj before swiftly dispatching Chittagong in the semi-final.

Thanks to Relaks Radio, thousands of people – both in the UK and abroad – were able to enjoy a feast of cricket, played on a perfect sunny day.

Sunamganj beat Moulvibazar to set up a star-studded final against Sylhet. The two titans locked horns once again, but Sylhet had the momentum and were just too strong for an excellent Sunamganj team. Mehdi Abbas was named as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player, Robin Das as highest run scorer and Mehedi Hasan Chowdhury Radi as highest wicket taker.

Special guests during the presentation included Shahidul Alam Ratan and BCSA Chair Abdus Salam; Rashid Ali, Chair of the Inner London Football League; Abdus Samad from the Vantage Accident Management Group; Lutfur Rahman of Work Permit Cloud WPC; Councillors Jyotsna and Sham Islam from Redbridge Council.

Bangladesh District Cup official and Essex County Cricket Board Director Jawar Ali commented, “It’s been a phenomenal day – full of friendship, fun and excellent cricket. Congratulations to Sylhet on lifting the trophy on such a memorable day. This event will serve many great purposes, but above all it has bought us together and provided sunshine after such a difficult two years living through lockdown and a global pandemic.”

Sylhet District Captain Sayfur Rahman added, “It has been a difficult and challenging journey for us after the way our lives have been affected. I want to thank my coaching colleagues and players for their ‘never say die’ attitude as we have had so many obstacles to defeat. Our squad of players and management were beyond special today, and it made me emotional to see us all operating to such high standards to achieve our objectives.”

Team coach and Chair Emdad Rahman concluded, “Today we witnessed a phenomenal team – unbeaten all day, in control, assured, oozing class, self-belief and confidence in every single game. The conduct of each member of the squad as ambassadors was outstanding. Thank you BCSA for an extraordinary day and to our opponents for helping make this day so special. Personally, I am indebted and reserve special and personal thanks to Jawar for the faith shown in our coaching team. Your belief in us was greater than our own!”

Sylhet District: Bangladesh District Cup Champions 2021

Emdad Rahman MBE: Team Coach and Sylhet District Chair
Maruf Hasan: Team Coach
Jamil Chowdhury: Player and Team Managing Director
Sayfur Rahman: Team Captain and Deputy Managing Director
Alomgir Ali: Comms and Media Manager
Akhlakun Nobi Jewel: Team operations Co-ordinator
Ali Amjad Misbah: Team Consultant

Sylhet District Squad 2021
1. Sayfur Rahman (Captain)
2. Jamil Chowdhury (Vice Captain)
3. Mohammad Chowdhury
4. Ali Amjad Misbah
5. Mitu Ahmed
6. Ripon Noor
7. Fakhrul Hussain
8. Sanjid Sami
9. AZM Johnny
10. Mehedi Abbas
11. Muzzammal Salman
12. Azimunnoor Chowdhury
13. Habib Shiplu
14. Abul Hussain
15. Zakoan Chowdhury

●Read more about it:
London Tigers CC win Victoria Park Community Cricket League
Neo Cricket Club crowned Natoinal Cricket League Champions

●Watch East London’s weekly news magazine programme,
live at 10pm every Tuesday and on demand all week:
The Tuesday Show

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *