Home » Community » Mathiura win Beanibazar Union Cup

Mathiura win Beanibazar Union Cup

Emdad Rahman

Mathiura Sporting Club are the champions of the first Beanibazar Union Cup.

The tournament by United Beanibazar UK was held at the Robert Clack Leisure Centre, Dagenham with all proceeds earmarked for charitable causes in Bangladesh.

Twelve teams with links to the Beanibazar region of Sylhet took to the field during a full day of exciting and good spirited football.

A tight final played by favourites Mathiura Sporting Club and tournament dark horses Alinogor Sporting Club was settled by Beanibazar and Stepney FC legend, goalkeeper Sham Zaman, who fired a rasping penalty home seven minutes from time.

United Beanibazar chairman Rahul Rahman commented, “On behalf of United Beanibazar, a heartfelt thank you to all the unions, players, managers, and the organisers for a memorable day and also for bringing Beanibazar together in order to serve a noble cause.

“You have all made the Beanibazar community proud with your collective participation and spirit today – Our congratulations to the champions Mathiura.”

“It has been a special day for us to lift this trophy, especially as all the teams are supporting such important charitable causes,” said winning Mathiura player manager Abdul Wahid.

The tournament expenses were paid by the sponsors which meant that 100% of the money raised through team entry fees will be allocated to charity.

Beanibazar Union Cup UK participants 2023:

Alinogor, Charkhai, Sheola, Dubag, Kurar Bazar, Pouroshoba, Mathiura, Muria, Lautha, Mullapur, Tilpara and London Kings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *