Home » Sports » BBC announces Personality Shortlist
The shortlisted sports personalities

BBC announces Personality Shortlist

THE BBC has announced this afternoon, 27th November, the twelve names on the shortlist for the award of BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017.

The award will be made at an event on Sunday, 17th December at the Echo Arena, Liverpool, which will be broadcast live on BBC One and the BBC Sport website, as well as on BBC Radio 5 live.

The public will be able to vote for their favourite Personality during the Show. Votes can be cast by phone or online, with details of how to do this being announced during the programme.

Tennis player Andy Murray will not be going for a hat trick. He won the award in 2015 and 2016 but has not made it onto the shortlist this year. The last ten winners have all male, so the four women on the 2017 shortlist will be working hard to break the mould.

As well as the headline award of Sports Personality, there will be a further seven awards made during the evening:
Team of the Year
Coach of the Year
Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
Young Sports Personality of the Year
Helen Rollason Award for outstanding achievement in the face of adversity
Lifetime Achievement Award
Get Inspired Unsung Hero

The Shortlist
Elise Christie – Short Track Speed Skating
Sir Mo Farah – Athletics
Chris Froome – Cycling
Lewis Hamilton – F1
Anthony Joshua – Boxing
Harry Kane – Football
Johanna Konta – Tennis
Jonnie Peacock – Para-athletics
Adam Peaty – Swimming
Jonathan Rea – Motorcycling
Anya Shrubsole – Cricket
Bianca Walkden – Taekwondo

•Read more about it:
Hillsborough: Anne’s last wish comes true
UK Bangladeshi Golf Society steps up a gear



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *