Home » Sports » NEO Cricket Club crowned National Cricket League champs

NEO Cricket Club crowned National Cricket League champs

Emdad Rahman

A TREMENDOUS end of season finale saw Neo CC crowned kings of the National Cricket League Division 1 for 2018. The team’s work rate, determination, flair and consistency paid off as they wrapped up the final match of the season against London CC with a victory of 23 runs.

Neo CC secured the league title with a game in hand and decided to take to the crease first in dry batting conditions. Skipper Ayaz Karim had a decent batting line up for the game and sent Nobel and Shihan to open the batting. Both batsmen looked comfortable in the middle – until Shihan was dismissed in the sixth over. Jabir Patel, Tanzim and Kishore took two wickets each for London CC.

Neo CC Scored 281/8 from 40 overs. Juwel Roy, who scored 42 runs in this league game, has now reached 600 league runs in NCL Division 1 this season. At one stage Neo CC were 175/8. It was left to Rokan Arafat Mashuk (85 not out) and Din Islam (33 not out) – with a partnership of 106 runs – to set a defendable total.

With London CC coming into bat, Bulbul Kadir and Din Islam went in hard with the ball for Neo CC. Badrul Bappy and Ashfaqur Nobel took three wickets each, and man of the match Mashuk took two wickets with spellbinding spin bowling. Shakil Tutla was the top scorer for London CC, with 65 runs.

Skipper Ayaz Karim said, “It is a great moment for us, winning the Division 1 championship in our first year with the NCL. The players have been really committed, played their hearts out and were consistent with their performances all throughout.”

Club Chair Mike Wood said, “This is a special victory by a special team. The way we have all clicked together has been nothing short of phenomenal. The commitments from all our players were outsanding.”

NCL Co-founder Sajid Patel said, “You deserve the spot you achieved this season. It was a hard fought and competitive season throughout the campaign.”

The team was congratulated for their win by title sponsor Mr Haseeb Rahman, CEO of Pure Co Insurance; kit sponsor Mr Mahbub Morshed, Principal of Mahbub and Co Accountants; and Mohammed Rasheed, director of Parking Control Ltd.

•Read more about it:
BCSA UK host Mohammad Ashraful
Mushahid is running for charity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *